El Estoque

About us

El Estoque (el ehs-toh-keh), which translates to the sword, is the national award-winning student publication of Monta Vista High School in Cupertino, Calif., since 1969.

print magazine is published once a month and our website and social media platforms are updated daily. Our content — which is entirely produced by a journalism class of around 60 students — ranges from traditional coverage such as investigative stories and breaking news to multimedia features such as videos and photo galleries. The goal of our content is to inform and entertain the student body and local community.

Mission statement:
We strive for all staff members to be dedicated, well-trained and passionate and provide consistent and diverse coverage of all local stakeholders through our student-run website, social media accounts and print news magazine. Our multiplatform content will be relevant, informative and interesting to our audience and attempt to affect positive change. Through strong communication and collaboration, our staff will provide a welcoming and fun atmosphere in order to build strong relationships with each other and with members of our community. El Estoque will be trusted with providing unbiased, truthful and accurate content through maintaining high-quality standards and professionalism in all interactions. We will exercise our press freedoms guaranteed by the First Amendment and California Ed Code 48907 while maintaining a strong ethical code.

Staff list:
Editors-in-Chief: Anish Vasudevan and Hannah Lee
Managing Editors: Alyssa Hui, Shuvi Jha, Stuti Upadhyay, Swara Tewari and Emily Xia
Copy Editor: Zara Iqbal
News Editors: Anushka De, Andie Liu, Tina Low and Jai Uparkar
Feature Editors: Tyler Cho, Brian Xu, Iman Malik and Claire Wen
Sports Editors: Justine Ha, Tabitha Mendez, Kamyar Moradi and Rucha Soman
Entertainment Editors: Ayah Ali-Ahmad, Charlotte Chui, Shivani Gupta and Robert Liu
Opinion Editors: Lakshanyaa Ganesh, Sreya Kumar, Jasmine Lee and Oishee Misra
Beats Editors: Lance Tong and Annie Zhang
Graphics Editors: Claire Yang and Sarah Young
Website Editor: Devin Gupta
Visuals Editors: Justine Ha, Tabitha Mendez and Collin Qian
Staff Writers: Michelle Chen, Sophia Chen, Ishaani Dayal, Aditi Dixit, Jayanti Jha, Rachel Jiang, Vivian Jiang, Elena Khan, Jefferson Le, Tanish Mendki, Shreshta Ranganathan, Anjali Singh, Neysa Singh, Leanna Sun, Sean Yagi
Adviser: Julia Satterthwaite

NSPA Pacemaker honors
Newspaper Pacemaker winners: 2018, 2017, 2016, 2012, 2009, 2008, 2007
Newspaper Pacemaker finalists: 2019, 2014, 2011, 2006
Online Pacemaker winners: 2017, 2013, 2012, 2011, 2009
Online Pacemaker finalists: 2018, 2015

CSPA Crown honors
Gold Crown winner for Hybrid news: 2019, 2018, 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013
Gold Crown winner for Newsmagazine: 2012, 2010, 2009, 2008
Silver Crown winner for Newsmagazine: 2007
Gold Crown winner for elestoque.org: 2012
Silver Crown winner for elestoque.org: 2010